Thoughts: Suki na Hito ga iru koto Episode 1

Suki na Hito ga iru koto

The poster pretty much says it all.

So let me first provide a short recap of the first episode of Suki na Hito ga iru koto (otherwise known as A Girl and Three Sweethearts, or There’s Someone I Like). This is your standard cohabitation rom-com, featuring a tsundere male lead and energetic, friendly, happy female lead. Sakurai Misaki, a patissier, ends up moving in with three brothers so the commute to work is shorter. She hasn’t kissed anyone in four years, so she thinks this change in scenery by moving elsewhere in Japan might provide her the perfect opportunity to find romance.

Let’s name the cheese ingredients:

  • A basketball scene between the two male suitors.
  • The two leads share earbuds.
  • Male lead has been a jerk so far.
  • Motorcycle ride with the second male lead.
  • Cohabitation plot.
  • Reverse harem.

Despite the cheesy elements overwhelming the drama’s plot, I found myself unable to stop watching the first episode. I think I am just a sucker for these type of plot setups (You’re Beautiful, Full House, 9 Ends 2 Outs). The acting so far hasn’t even been that great, but dammit somehow I’m still entertained.

Leave a comment